Super brief bio

Silvia Moreno-Garcia is the author of the novels Velvet Was the Night, Mexican GothicGods of Jade and Shadow, and a bunch of other books. She has also edited several anthologies, including the World Fantasy Award-winning She Walks in Shadows (a.k.a. Cthulhu’s Daughters).

Extended version

Mexican by birth, Canadian by inclination. Silvia Moreno-Garcia is the author of a number of critically acclaimed novels, including Gods of Jade and Shadow (Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, Ignyte Award), Mexican Gothic (Locus Award, British Fantasy Award, Pacific Northwest Book Award, Aurora Award, Goodreads Award), and others.

She has edited several anthologies, including She Walks in Shadows (World Fantasy Award winner, published in the USA as Cthulhu’s Daughters). Silvia is the publisher of Innsmouth Free Press. She co-edited the horror magazine The Dark with Sean Wallace from 2017 to 2020. She’s a columnist for The Washington Post.

She has an MA in Science and Technology Studies from the University of British Columbia. Her thesis can be read online and is titled “Magna Mater: Women and Eugenic Thought in the Work of H.P. Lovecraft.” She lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.


Looking for Me?

Get in touch



I post on social media via Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. I am on Patreon and have a newsletter.

I do not respond to any inquiries via social media. For business questions contact my agents. For publicity or interviews, contact my publishers.

Do not contact me about TV production or casting questions.

I’m CLOSED to blurbs.

Book reviews

Publicists: If you want your book considered for my SFF Washington Post column, send a press release to the books section with pertinent info.

I am interested in adult science fiction, fantasy or horror novels, novellas or collections. I don’t read any YA/children’s fiction.

Events, book rights, translation

If it’s about an event, book deals or translation rights, contact my literary agent, Eddie Schneider, JABberwocky Agency. E-mail: eddie [at] awfulagent [dot] com

Film + TV

For film and TV inquiries: Dana Spector, CAA.

Interviews and publicity

My books are from many different imprints. Check the publisher’s website for publicity questions, including interviews or review copies. With that said, my two most recent publishers are:

PRH/Del Rey: DelRey@randomhouse.com

Tor: torpublicity@tor.com


  • Winner Aurora Award 2021
  • Winner British Fantasy Award (August Derleth Award) 2021
  • Winner Locus Award 2020 for Mexican Gothic
  • Winner Goodreads Award 2020 for Mexican Gothic
  • Winner 2021, Pacific Northwest Book Awards Mexican Gothic
  • Winner 2020, Sunburst Award for novel Gods of Jade and Shadow
  • Winner, 2020, Ignyte Award for novel Gods of Jade and Shadow
  • Winner 2016, World Fantasy Award for anthology She Walks in Shadows
  • Winner 2016, Copper Cylinder Award for novel Signal to Noise
  • Finalist for the Nebula, Shirley Jackson, Stoker, Mythopoeic Fiction Award in Adult Literature awards.


You can support me via Patreon.


Stay informed about my work. Sign up for my newsletter